the dan milner photography blog: tales of an adventuring photo chimp

March 26, 2009

Document Snowboard cover March 09

Filed under: snow — danmilner @ 10:55 pm

I just received the latest issue of the UK’s Document Snowboard magazine sporting a shot of mine on its front cover. While not a surprise to me (hey, we photographers do sometimes actually communicate with editors) I was keen to see is how it came out as a cover considering it was originally shot as a landscape orientated image. Obviously running a landscape as a cover means cropping a shot to fit the portrait orientation of magazines so the result is interesting, at least to my geeky side. I’m a firm believer that composition is perhaps the most important aspect of photography: it’s the way a photographer chooses to frame what they see, what they choose to edit out and to hide from the viewer and what they include as being useful in making a shot achieve its desired result. What makes this cover selection even more interesting is when I originally looked at the scene it had Black & White written all over it, using the delicacies of a monotone image to maximise the impact of the snow forms and shapes in the landscape and remove the potential distraction of colours. It was also shot on a day when I was experimenting with a red filter on the front of the lens on a digital Canon EOS 1D mk2N body (to see if I could mimic the increased contrast effects that a red-filter has on regular B&W film stock, rather than do it through post-production alone) so when the request for a colour version of this shot came in it was going to be 50/50 as to whether I could supply it as a colour image.  I just couldn’t remember which shots I had shot with the red filter and which I hadn’t. As luck would have it, it turned out that this was one shot I hadn’t used the filter, meaning that due to the wonders of the digital image it could be rendered as a final colour image and not just B&W. It might not be the original image I had in mind when I shot it, but it ended up as a cover all the same, and while the late great landscape photographer Ansel Adams might turn in his grave over this about turn in image style direction,  I guess neither I nor Johno Verity, the rider, cant complain.

 

The original B&W as perceived on location and the final colour cover

The original B&W as perceived on location and the final colour cover

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

